Don’t Stress

Honestly, this has got to be one of the hardest things that I struggle with as a writer.  It’s just so easy to worry about your progress (or lack of progress).  Just this weekend, I was stressing about finishing a chapter for one of my novels.  I just wanted to get it done because I knew that this week was going to be pretty busy.  I worried so much about finishing it that I just couldn’t find the words to write down.  I was too concerned with finishing the chapter and I had forgotten that writing should be enjoyable.

I decided to take a break, relax, and come back to it later and it really worked.  It was much easier to get my creative thoughts going when I wasn’t stressing about a deadline that I had given myself.  (I ended up finishing the chapter too).

Other times I worry that my novel isn’t exciting enough.  Then I realize something really important.  I’ve read the novel like a hundred times!  Of course it won’t be as exciting as if I were reading a brand new book!  Just remember that your audience will be reading your novel for the first time so all your predictable twists and turns will be complete surprises for them.

Comments welcome!:)

~Nightsong

2 thoughts on “Don’t Stress

  1. rachelsanderson says:

    Totally agree! Even when it’s all going well writing a book is a dauntingly huge task and it’s so easy to create a lot of pressure around making progress. I try to let myself enjoy the process and celebrate the little steps along the way. This sometimes involves chocolate šŸ˜Š

    Like

Leave a Reply

