Parents in YA Novels

Hey, my wonderful bloggers!  First off, I just want to apologize for my lack of posts this past week.  Sorry!  I’ve just been really busy with college.  At least I am almost done!  Yay!  I seriously can’t wait until finals are over.

So today, I’m going to talk about the parents in YA novels.  First off, I know that YA novels are supposed to be all about the teens discovering who they are and beating all the odds, but do the parents really have to be so ignorant in order for this to be accomplished?  I’ve found that the current trend in YA novels is for the parents to be either dead, out of the picture, or just there not really doing much.

I’m not saying that all YA novels are like this.  I have read quite a few YA novels that have good, strong parents that I could respect.  However, the last few books that I read just begged the question, “Why are the parents even here?”  They barely knew what was going on with the main character and I felt like they were only there to provide the occasional, “Have fun while you’re out” or “Dinner will be ready in a few” or “How was your day?”

It just kind of bothered me.  Not to the point that I disliked the novel as a whole, but that I didn’t quite understand why the parents didn’t act like real parents.  Like, no real parent is this dumb.  No teen could ever get all of this stuff past their parents (especially with the lame excuses that they use at times).  I don’t know.  The scatter brained parents cliches just rub me the wrong way sometimes.

What bothers you when you read a Young Adult novel?  Do you mind the parent cliches?  What book are you reading right now?

~Nightsong

4 thoughts on “Parents in YA Novels

  1. Akaluv says:

    Wow! This reminds me so much of my blog post! I also don’t like reading parents in YA adult books. The parents just seem so…stupid. It’s almost like they don’t even serve a point :/

    I like some YA books, but honestly, this is why I prefer New Adult. At least in New Adult you don’t have to deal with stupid parent characters.

    Liked by 1 person

    • creativeminds101blog says:

      Really?! I’ll have to read your post. And I agree. In my opinion, if the parents aren’t going to serve an actual purpose they really don’t need to be there. Honestly, some books just give parents such a bad rap. I totally agree with you on your last point.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Akaluv says:

        Yes, they do! Why write parents who are going to sit back and do nothing. In Red Queen – a popular young adult book – the MC just forgets about her parents. The parents just go along with everything like they don’t have any opinion. It’s pretty stupid.

        Liked by 1 person

        • creativeminds101blog says:

          I just hate it when they do that in novels. Parents should have an opinion and they should be portrayed as just as intelligent (or more intelligent) than their children. This is just one of my biggest pet peeves in novels to be honest:/

          Like

Leave a Reply

