New Year, New Goals

Hey, everyone!  I know that I’m a little late posting this but it’s better late than never right?

Well, this past year has been a roller coaster for sure with plenty of ups and downs.  I did not accomplish all the goals that I had set out for this past year, but I was able to accomplish my goal of completing and editing my first novel and writing my first short story!  Plus, I started my own blog:)  But now it’s a new year and I have new goals to accomplish.  To keep things short, I’ll just name my top four goals (resolutions) for 2017!!

1) Publish the first novel in my four book series.

I know that this is a big goal and will most likely take longer than a year, but a I can hope right?

2) Attend a writers conference.

I feel that attending a writer’s conference will help me find an agent and learn more about publishing books.  (Fingers crossed)

3) Finish the second book in my four book series.

4) Try to post on my blog at least 3 to 4 times a week.

I love being on WordPress and being able to connect with other writers and I hope to have a more active presence on this site this coming year.

So what are your goals for this upcoming year?  Is there anything that you would like me to post more of on my blog?  

~Nightsong

7 thoughts on “New Year, New Goals

  1. Sunshinemind89 says:

    Good luck with getting your book published!

    I’m in the process of trying to get some work published too (it’s a children’s book). I started submitting a year and a half ago. I’ll never forget the first rejection letter I got (about 9 months after submitting). You would think I would have been disappointed, but I was actually really excited about it. It felt good to at least know that someone had read and considered my work.

    Keep at it! It’s easy to get distracted and lazy with long processes such as this. Keep that in mind and don’t give up! J.K. Rowling was rejected 11 times (or something like that) before publishing the first Harry Potter Book!

    Liked by 1 person

    • creativeminds101blog says:

      I am currently in the process of learning how to properly submit my novel for publication. (I want to make sure that I do it right). I will say that I didn’t know that J.K. Rowling was rejected so many times. I guess that’s encouragement to all of us up-and-coming authors out there! We just have to keep trying. I wish you the best of luck with publishing your children’s book. Hopefully 2017 is your year for publication:)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Shadow Summit says:

    They sound like some good goals. As you probably know, I plan on finishing, editing and publishing a book this year too. Writer’s conferences are awesome (though I’ve only gone to a couple of small ones). I’ll probably attend a couple more this year thought, especially since I’ll be living in a bigger town. I look forward to seeing all you accomplish this year! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • creativeminds101blog says:

      Thank you, Shadow Summit!:) I do remember that publishing a book was one of your goals as well. Your cover for your novel, Sorrow’s Blade, looks really cool. I can’t wait to read your novel when it comes out! This will be my first year ever attending a writer’s conference, but I am excited for the new experience!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

