Confronting Writer’s Block

Writer’s block is a terrible thing that almost every writer (if not all) will go through during the process of writing a novel.  Here’s some advice to get you through this halt in your writing progress.

1) Take a break.

Give yourself some time to recollect your thoughts.  Try taking up another creative hobby such as art or crafts.  Something that helps me personally is to spend time outside and read a novel that made me fall in love with writing in the first place.

2) Don’t Panic.

Writer’s block is not the end of your writing career.  It’s just an obstacle that you need to get over so don’t stress.  It will fade.

3) Change your environment.

It’s always a good thing to spice things up a bit to get the words flowing.  So try finding a new place to write.  Who knows?  It may be just what you need.

4) Listen to music.

5) Write.

People overcome writer’s block by writing!  Just put your pencil to paper and write whatever.  Write with your heart and go with it.  Don’t worry about punctuation and editing.  That comes later.  Remember that first drafts don’t have to be perfect.  They just have to be written.  “You might not write well every day, but you can always edit a bad page.  You can’t edit a blank page.”  –Jodi Picoult

6) Don’t give up!

I know that I say this a lot, but I think that this is just the best advice that can be given to writers.  Writing a novel is hard, but not impossible.  Professional authors are just amateur writers who didn’t give up!

~Nightsong

6 thoughts on “Confronting Writer’s Block

  1. Shadow Summit says:

    All great points! Sometimes, especially when your working on a book you just need to try and write something else and then inspiration will come back for the other story. You can’t exhaust yourself on one story and force yourself because you’ll find that work isn’t as good as when your inspired. I’ve had writers block several times, but you do get over it. Also sometimes writing prompts or writing off a picture can help too. 🙂 Great post, Nightsong! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    • creativeminds101blog says:

      Thanks, Shadow Summit!😊. I have actually just “recovered” from a writer’s block. Thank goodness!! So I thought that this would be a good post. Anyway, I’ve actually never tried writing off a picture. I love writing prompts though. I also agree with your point to not exhaust yourself on one story. I burned myself out when I first started writing by doing just that. Thankfully, I’ve learned a few things.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Akaluv says:

    Writer’s block is the worst! Your tips are great! I especially like the one about music :3 When I have writer’s block, I take a walk and listen to music. After that, the ideas come flooding in =)

    Thanks for sharing with us!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

